VIC Branch Winter Welcome

  • When: Friday, 31 July 2020
  • Where: Melbourne Museum
For other meeting dates please consult the AOA Calendar.


Information regarding VORT Grants will be posted here in April 2020.

Please note that NO VORT GRANTS will be provided in 2019.

Queries should be sent to

The information below is indicative only; the process for applying, and the criteria for the awarding of grants may change in 2020.

The late Professor John Hart, a highly-esteemed and visionary Victorian orthopaedic surgeon, established the Victorian Orthopaedic Research Trust (VORT) in 1998, the year he was elected as AOA President.

His original vision for VORT was to support ‘at the grassroots’ young Victorian researchers.

What research does VORT support?

VORT grants are particularly intended to support opportunities for applicants to develop research capability and engagement early in their careers.

Amounts awarded usually range between $5,000 and $12,000. 

VORT grants may be provided for: 

  • laboratory or clinical basic science orthopaedic-related research
  • preventative options, new treatments, screening and diagnostic techniques - or quality of life studies (PROMS)
  • bio-mechanical research into orthopaedic implants, molecular biology and/or anatomical studies
  • applied science studies including pain management and operative intervention trials

Prospective controlled trials take precedence over retrospective reviews. 


Applying for a VORT grant

Applicants are required to:

  • Provide a proposed research aim and explain the potential significance of the research project
  • Clearly outline the proposed methodology
  • Provide a detailed budget, including information on financial support from other sources
  • Advise if the project has been granted ethics approval.

Successful grant recipients will be required to provide research progress reports and to present their work upon its completion. 

Applicants are encouraged to seek advice from mentors or someone experienced in the field of the research project before submitting an application.

VORT encourages newcomers to be involved in research, and if requested, will endeavour to help applicants find suitable mentors or advisors in the field.

The VORT Board of Trustees has responsibility for the organisational and financial management of the Trust, its funds and investments.

The VORT Board currently comprises:

Miron Goldwasser, Chair
Raphael Hau
John Owen
Richard Page
Phong Tran

The VORT Research Committee assesses and scores applications. It provides its recommendations to the VORT Board for its consideration and approval.

Currently the VORT Research Committee comprises:

Peter Choong, Chair
Richard De Steiger
Marinis Pirpiris
Gerald Quan
Martin Richardson
James Stoney

For further information, please contact

Event photos

Members are invited to view galleries of photos from VIC Branch events:

The Victorian Archive

Access a library listing of Victorian AOA member papers, dissertations and other material of both current and historical significance, and find out how you can contribute.

Enter the archive.


Alison Taylor


David Shepherd


Harvinder Bedi


Timothy Lording

Scientific Secretary

John Cunningham

Ordinary Member

Chris Jones

Ordinary Member and AMA Victoria Representative

Branch enquiries:
VIC Branch Executive Officer
Kimberley Heinrich
T  0412 512 455
F  02 8071 8002

Training queries:
VIC/TAS Regional Training Manager
Leanne Doyle
M 0488 080 919

Co-opted Members

Grant Pang

        VTRTC Representative

Stephen Doig

Government Sub-Committee Representative
Worksafe Representative

Richard Kjar

Rural Surgeons Representative

David Love

RACS Victoria Representative

Marinis Pirpiris

Continuing Professional Development Representative
AOA Code of Conduct Review Representative

Anna Manopolous

ASOS Representative

Avanthi Mandaleson

VASM Representative