AOA Honours and Awards


AOA presents a number of awards and medals for outstanding contributions to various areas of orthopaedic endeavour.

Unless otherwise specified, the honours and awards listed below are judged by the Honours and Nominations Committee.


  • Are made by fellows of the Association.
  • Must be seconded by another fellow.
  • Must be made in writing on the AOA nomination form. Download the nomination form – if you have trouble, right click the link and select 'save as', or email us for a copy. A PDF nomination form is also available
  • Must be accompanied by a brief supporting letter outlining reasons for the nomination.

Please send nomination forms via email to or via post to:

Australian Orthopaedic Association
Level 26
201 Kent Street
Sydney NSW 2000

2023 AOA Award recipients

L O Betts Memorial Medal

2023 Awardee: John Batten

The L O Betts Memorial Medal was established by Mrs Beatrice Betts, widow of the second President of AOA. The medal is awarded for outstanding contribution to the science and practice of orthopaedics or to AOA.

The L O Betts Memorial Medal is an accolade of the highest order of the Association.


Award for Leadership

2023 Awardee: Vera Sallen

This award recognises outstanding leadership potential in a member of AOA under the age of 50 (at 30 June in the year of the award), who has made a substantial contribution to AOA either at branch or federal level, and other areas of professional endeavour.


Award for Service to Orthopaedic Education

This award recognises substantial contributions to the field of the education of orthopaedic trainees by fellows of AOA, at both a regional and federal level.


Award for Service to Orthopaedic Research

2023 Awardee: Richard de Steiger

This award recognises significant contribution by an AOA member to international orthopaedic research, which has contributed to the orthopaedic and wider community.


Humanitarian Service Award

This award recognises an outstanding contribution to humanitarian services in orthopaedics by an AOA member.


Award for Meritorious Service

2023 Awardees: Brett Courtenay, John Croser, Roland Hicks, Peter Lewis and Alan Prosser

The AOA Medal for Meritorious Service is awarded to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the work of the Association over many years.


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

2023 Awardee: Andrew Wines

The DEI Award recognises individual members or a group of members who have made an outstanding contribution to supporting diversity and fostering equity and inclusion within the AOA membership and the wider community.

The award embodies AOA’s commitment to diversity and inclusions which is underpinned by our Diversity Strategic Plan 2018–2023 and the culture, diversity and inclusion core pillar within the AOA Strategic Plan 2022–2024.


Life Fellow

2023 Awardees: John Hill, Markus Kuster, Graham Mercer and Paul Stalley

Life Fellowship is awarded to a fellow whom the Association considers has given long and faithful service to the Association.


Corresponding Fellow

Corresponding Fellowship is awarded to distinguished surgeons or persons practising in related disciplines not residing in Australia.


Honorary Fellow

Honorary Fellowship is awarded to a scientist, medical practitioner, distinguished public figure or a person practising in related disciplines recognised by the Association for his or her contributions to orthopaedic surgery, other branches of surgery, medicine or human endeavour.


Philip Segelov Award

Awarded by the Australasian Orthopaedic Trauma Society, this award is for the best trauma paper presented by a registrar or training doctor at the AOA Annual Scientific Meeting.

The 2008 winner of the Philip Segelov Award was Chere McCamley.


L O Betts Memorial Medal
Award for Humanitarian Service
Award for Leadership
Award for Services to Orthopaedic Education
Award for Services to Orthopaedic Research
Corresponding Fellow
Honorary Fellows
Life Fellow
Medal for Meritorious Service

Expand all

Collapse all