AOA Honours and Awards


AOA presents a number of awards and medals for outstanding contributions to various areas of orthopaedic endeavour.

Unless otherwise specified, the honours and awards listed below are judged by the Honours and Nominations Committee.


  • Are made by Fellows of the Association
  • Must be seconded by another Fellow
  • Must be submitted by 31 May each year
  • Must be made in writing on the AOA Nomination Form (download the Nomination Form)
  • Must be accompanied by a brief supporting letter outlining reasons for the nomination

Please send nominations to:

Australian Orthopaedic Association
Level 12
45 Clarence Street
Sydney NSW 2000
T 02 8071 8000
F 02 8071 8002


L O Betts Memorial Medal

2018 Awardee: Ian Dickinson

The L O Betts Memorial Medal was established by Mrs Beatrice Betts, widow of the second President of AOA. The medal is awarded for outstanding contribution to the science and practice of orthopaedics or to AOA.

The L O Betts Memorial Medal is an accolade of the highest order of the Association.


Award for Leadership

2018 Awardee: Ali Gursel

This award recognises outstanding leadership potential in a member of AOA under the age of 50 (at 30 June in the year of the award), who has made a substantial contribution to AOA either at branch or federal level, and other areas of professional endeavour.


Award for Service to Orthopaedic Education

This award recognises substantial contributions to the field of the education of orthopaedic trainees by Fellows of AOA, at both a regional level and federal level.


Corresponding Fellow

Corresponding Fellowship is awarded to distinguished surgeons or persons practising in related disciplines not residing in Australia.


Award for Service to Orthopaedic Research

This award recognises significant contribution by an AOA member to international orthopaedic research, which has contributed to the orthopaedic and wider community.


Humanitarian Service Award

2018 Awardees: Peter Lugg and Michael McAuliffe

This award recognises an outstanding contribution to humanitarian services in orthopaedics by an AOA member.


Life Fellow

2018 Awardees: Youssef Ghabriel, Don Johnston, David Ness and William Walter

Life Fellowship is awarded to a Fellow whom the Association considers has given long and faithful service to the Association.


Honorary Fellows

2018 Awardees: John Bennett, Henrik Malchau, Alan Kop and Jay Ebert

Honorary Fellowship is awarded to a scientist, medical practitioner, distinguished public figure or a person practising in related disciplines recognised by the Association for his or her contributions to orthopaedic surgery, other branches of surgery, medicine or human endeavour.


Medal for Meritorious Service

2018 Awardee: John Kagi

The AOA Medal for Meritorious Service is awarded to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the work of the Association over many years.


Philip Segelov Award

Awarded by the Australasian Orthopaedic Trauma Society, this award is for the best trauma paper presented by a registrar or training doctor at the AOA Annual Scientific Meeting.

The 2008 winner of the Philip Segelov Award was Chere McCamley.


  • L O Betts Memorial Medal

  • Award for Humanitarian Service

  • Award for Leadership

  • Award for Services to Orthopaedic Education

  • Award for Services to Orthopaedic Research

  • Corresponding Fellow

  • Honorary Fellows

  • Life Fellow

  • Medal for Meritorious Service